Croatia is located in the southern part of Central Europe and in the northern part of the Mediterranean, so we can say that it represents the Mediterranean port of Central Europe. With its 1,244 islands Croatia has the most indented coast in the Mediterranean and justifies the name ‘The land of a thousand islands’. The country is made up of four geographical regions — the lowlands, the central area, the mountains area and the coast. These regions contain a wealth of natural and cultural beauty, which makes our country one of the most desirable tourist destinations in the world.

Rijeka is the administrative and cultural centre of the Primorje-Gorski kotar County and the third largest city in Croatia with regard to the number of inhabitants. The city is situated along the course of Rječina River and nearby numerous streams. It lies on abundant sources and confluences. Like numerous cities in the world, Rijeka carries the symbol of water in its name.

Croatian presidency of the Council of the European Union

The Council of the European Union represents the governments of the member states. In the Council, national ministers from all EU member states meet to legislate and coordinate policies. This is also an opportunity for delegates to express their member states’ positions and to defend their respective national interests.

Together with the European Parliament, the Council is the main decision-making body of the EU.

©2020 by AECM Annual Event Dubrovnik 2020. Proudly created with